Song of the day: Primus, “Jerry was a Racecar Driver”

The first time I heard this song it was while watching MTV’s “Headbanger’s Ball” one Saturday night home (as always) back when I was in high school; my first reaction to the song frankly was to hate it.  Despite the initial dislike of the song I just couldn’t get it out of my head and I found myself  beginning to obsess over this weird band.

Obsessive curiosity turned to affection (like in most fanfics) and before I knew it I had a pinup on my wall of Les Claypool’s famous “Rainbow bass” by master luthier Carl Thompson. 

For years now I have been a massive Primus/Les Claypool fan and have been hugely influenced by their music.  If not already farmilliar give them a shot, trust me, this song only scratches the surface of what they can do.

Besides, look at that bass! It’s the same image I cut out of a guitar magazine & tacked to my wall all those years ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LBQ2305fLeA

One Response to “Song of the day: Primus, “Jerry was a Racecar Driver””

  1. […] Kingbiscuitpants’s Blog The lost culinary chaptersof the Necronomicron « Song of the day: Primus, “Jerry was a Racecar Driver” […]

Leave a Reply

