Song of the day: “Tell her this” by Del Amitri

“Tell her this” by Del Amitri is hands down my favorite love song.   This song is the soundtrack of my angsty, frustrated late to post teenage years and captures the “crying while the song is on the radio while you’re driving” (really happened & I even remember the girl’s name at the time and the road I was driving down… it was raining too) high volume levels of emotion that I gratefully am mostly incapable of at this point. 

This is the sort of song that can get you to do really stupid things if listened to enough times in a row; if you need to amp yourself up to tell someone you love them for the first time, this is the one to do it.

I’m a bitter, beat up old man mentally, but as I’ve been writing this post I’ve had the song playing as a loop and I swear I’m getting teary and find myself wanting to call my wife at work and blubberly go on and on about how much I love her.  I’ll wait till she gets home so she doesn’t think I’m having a breakdown again.  

My favorite line is “tell her something in my heart needs her more than even clowns need the laughter of the crowd”.  Being essentially a clown at heart that one always gets me.

Listen cautiously, this is serious medicine, and keep tissues nearby.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBXy9u7Gcds

Leave a Reply

