I have become hopelessly addicted to “Sunjay’s Medium Spicy Kimchee”

Shu brought 2 jars home a few weeks ago…  I’ve now consumed 8 jars of the delectable korean condiment; sepcifically “Sunjay’s” brand.   I’ve been putting it in everything, cooking with it, adding it to sandwitches (tuna salad or sardine  & kimchee sandwitches is a stinky delight) thinking about it when I’m too far away. 

For the unfarmilliar, kimchee is essentially a very spicy sauerkraut, only not chopped so finely, now people not in the know are thinking “what’s the big deal?”  But I have both north and south Korea having my back on this one, as it’s as omnipresent there as ketchup is here.

What is the appeal? I love the salty/sour/crunchy element it brings to dishes & just a little bit cooked into a stir fry can provide that “X” factor that can make a good dish great.  It’s a classic example of how a dish evolved from survival to savory delight.

If you haven’t tried it, do.  But be forewarned, they don’t have 12 step program for kimchee addiction.

3 Responses to “I have become hopelessly addicted to “Sunjay’s Medium Spicy Kimchee””

  1. Sounds great….I’d like to try it.

    Where can I find it?

  2. You seem very interested in exotic food. Have you ever considered trying molecular gastronomy? I know it is a bit gimmicky, but it’s a lot of fun. I love playing with textures. You can make watermelon, ice tea, sea vegetable, or even balsamic vinegar caviar spheres . You can make spagetti- like strands out of coconut and other natural ingredients with the addition of gellen or agar. It’s not great for everyday cooking, but you and your kids might like giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

