Archive for April 12, 2010

Good News About Sitcom and a Pat on the Back for Jessica

Posted in rants on April 12, 2010 by kingbiscuitpants

Job news is still more bleak & hopless than an emo haircut, however, good news towards the filming of the sitcom pilot has come in.

We officially have a reliable, cheap-ass location to shoot in!

Let me very publicly pat Jessica on the back for single handedly securing the location to film our sitcom pilot. 

Insert stock footage of a clapping audience; preferably in a sepiatone.

We have now tackled one of  the primary hurdles towards making this set of bad ideas a reality.

As soon as circumstances allow I’ll head out there to take photos & figure out what set pieces are needed, then do the storyboards so the shoot will go off quickly enough to possibly squeeze in filming a second episode (which I’m currently working on) in the same day.

Wish me luck & I’ll keep you all informed!

Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

Posted in art on April 12, 2010 by kingbiscuitpants

Let me start this by saying that I have willingly and enthusiastically watched this movie twice in the past two days.   The people who know me are probably still overcome with shock at that statement; since even movies I enjoy and reccomend I usually can only “enjoy” once, so to see a movie twice in as many days is a grand anomoly for me.

Let’s also get this out of the way; it is an unapologetic action movie and frankly that’s fine.   It represented itself as such, the action scenes were smart and imaginative.  I was especially fond of when it showed Holmes planning his attacks  in slow motion before the full speed melee.  This actually isn’t too far from Sherlock Holmes “canon”, where he is mentioned specifically to be an expert in Barjitsu which was, and still is a legitimate martial art as well as Ju-Jitsu.  The fact that they remembered that Dr. Watson was a decorated military man and used it also really worked in this version of the Holmes mythos.

The art direction I also found supurb, from the very realistic, gritty urban London of the 1800’s to notes that showed the set dressers actually read some Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, from the infamous “threadbare robe” to the organized mess of Holme’s chambers. 

As far as the acting went I freely admit I’ll watch Robert Downey Jr. in almost anything, but he was a special delight in this role-though I do admit I noticed touches of his Chaplin performance scattered throughout the piece.  Jude Law “rocked the stashe'” as a very capable and believable Watson.  There were also no disappointments in the supporting cast as they all distinguished themselves well with the material.

Quite frankly, this was the most fun, most enjoyable movie that I’ve seen in years.  In fact this is a film I actually intend to purchase eventually and I NEVER buy DVDs; that’s how much I liked it.  It’s a good one, go put it on your NetFlix que or something and don’t take it too seriously.