The Sleeper has Awakened!

I sit here after a delightfully cooperative act of getting the children to school, musing before taking the morning nap that allows me to both work nights and wake up at 5 am, enjoying a nice mug of tea and being grateful that there has been a planetary alignment that has developed the massive gravitational forces necissary to pull my head out of my ass.

I had been pretty seriously depressed for the past several months, as most of you might have noticed in my tone here, but a few days ago I sort of had a moment of Satori and everything just seemed far clearer than it had in a long time.

My problems are still the same but instead of staring & complaining I’m actually starting to make small, daily, quantifyable bits of headway no matter what.  Also and most excitingly to me; I’ve been actively reinvolving myself in the arts, be it banging away on one of my instruments, drawing or whatnot & for the first time in a while I’m feeling myself again….  I’ll convince you later since I’m heading toward nodding off right now…

4 Responses to “The Sleeper has Awakened!”

  1. BeencaSpunpatch Says:

    Dom, I am so happy to hear that you have reawakened. I know how important your art and music are to you. What you said in this entry is so instrumental to living life in a positive way. Stop looking at the daunting big picture, and start on the little things you can accomplish and feel good about. Build on that sense of accomplishment, and then tackle the next thing.
    These are things I have learned since I moved away from South Florida and the negativity of my family. I am a different much happier person. Even when things are difficult, I choose to pick out the positive in the situation and run with that instead of dwelling on what sucks. You, my friend are an incredible human and you have to remember to see that in yourself as others see it in you. I send love from North Carolina, Stacey

  2. Buck up little camper, we’ll beat that slope together. – Charles De Mar, Better Off Dead

    We’ve all hit those rough patches, man. It’s cyclical. It’s good you have a release with music and art. If it wasn’t for playing music, I don’t know how I would have handled shit over the years.

  3. Altho your financial situation is much more precarious than mine (and thus, your stress level infinitely higher!) I seem to be riding the same recovery train! I’ll tell you what people have been telling me and that is to nurture my creativity, stop thinking that if I don’t get a job doing something creative I will have failed and just do what I enjoy BECAUSE I enjoy it.

    I’m glad to hear you’re finding your way out of the depressing morass – it’s so much nicer out here!!

  4. kingbiscuitpants Says:

    Thanks so much for the words of encouragement they are much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

