America in 10 meals 2- The Quickening

About a year ago I posted this question and was only responded to my delianeal (on my blogroll as so there we were) my original lummoxcateer, but now since I’ve far more readers and time has passed, i once again make the query as I quote myself from a year ago.

America in 10 Meals

This might be a somewhat controversial post, (as it should be) but since I’ve been having on of my periodic chronic bouts of insomnia I’ve had quit a bit of time to obsess over this one. Here is my query; you are entertaining a hardcore “foodie” from another country, they have never been to America before & they have challenged you to give them a warts and all synopsis of American food in 10 meals. The following is my big 10 and should give you a feel for the “rules” so to speak of the game & I very much hope that some of you submit your own as I realize that growing up in South Florida probably puts an odd skew into my conception of these things. These are in no particular order by the way.

1: Bacon Cheeseburger with Fries and a Large Strawberry Milkshake

2: Super Slow Cooked BBQ Pork Ribs with Homemade Cole Slaw and Baked Beans

3: Chicken Fried Steak & Fried Eggs with Homemade Biscuits & Sausage Gravy

4: An Over the top “Meat Lovers’” style Pizza from a Mom & Pop Pizza place served with Garlic Rolls & Cheap American Draft Beer

5: Southern Fried Chicken with Mashed Potatoes & Gravy & Fried Okra

6: An Excessively large Steak with a Loaded Baked Potato & Spinach

7: An Old School New Orleans style Jambalaya or Crayfish Boil (I had a tie)

8: A Big Overstuffed Submarine Sandwich Served with Potato Chips

9: A Bowl of New England Clam Chowder & a Crab Cake Sandwich

10: An Overstuffed Reuben from a good Jewish deli server with a Potato Knish & a Celery Soda

I have no illusions that I’ve covered everything, but there had to be limits. I also realize that the Dirty Water Hot Dog is a glaring omission, a “Hungry Man” frozen dinner says volumes about the American diet and I almost added a trip to any “all you can eat” place located in a strip mall but I had to draw the line somewhere otherwise this would be a book not a list. So dear readers feel free to point out my latest glaring failures & inadequacies & throw your own 2 cents in.

This entry was posted on May 2, 2009 at 8:48 am and is filed under Food, rants . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. Edit this entry.

2 Responses to “America in 10 Meals”

delianeal Says:
May 4, 2009 at 11:17 am e

Hmmm, clearly an offering from the Eastern side of this great land – my list will have a southwestern bent. I actually have a friend coming to visit from Ireland who is what I would consider a foodie so I’m trying to figure out where to take her here in AZ – I see lots of chile in her future!

OK, my list is thus:
1. Fried chicken & mashed potatoes with gravy (homemade, puh-leeze!)
2. Dungeness crab and sourdough bread a la San Fran at it’s best
3. Planked Salmon over a wood fire
4. Big Bowl of Red Chile with cornbread & Big Bowl of Green chile with buttered tortillas (I know that’s two – but they’re similar enough to be one dish, and yet different enough to require individual attention!)
5. Macaroni and Cheese (unfortunately, I think this would probably have to be Kraft to be truly American)
6. Big Ass Burger and mountainous pile of shoestring fries (at the Roaring Fork in Scottsdale – the best Happy Hour bargain on the planet)
7. Massive plate of hot wings and all necessary acoutrements, including several pitchers of beer
8. Yankee Pot Roast with apple pie for dessert
9. Heart-stoppingly giant Porterhouse steak cooked medium-rare with all necessary sides (I’d probably go chain-restaurant with this and just take my guest to Ruth’s Chris – or Phoenix has a great old-school steakhouse called Durant’s that gives Ruth’s a run for her money)
10. Crawdad Po’ Boy with fries and coleslaw.

Ten just isn’t enough! I concur with most of your suggestions, but I didn’t want to copy. . .
Ironically, when our Irish friends visit, the one place the men want to go is the Claim Jumper which, if you don’t have them in your neck of the woods, serves embarrassingly enormous entrees – really over-the-top, and not necessarily in a good way. I think the guys just want a taste of unabashed American excess. . .

Leave a Reply

