Leftover Alchemy: Dom’s Vaguely BBQ Chicken Spaghetti, with Ham & Stuff

Like most people nowadays things are really tight so stretching our food budget really is a daily lifesaver in our house. A lucky and well timed perk of Shu’s current job (she’s Cheffing) is a copious amount of leftover food & prepped ingredients. The one down side of this, however, is that there is definitely a ticking clock to use up the ingredients. This dish is an example of creative transmogrification of ingredients since Logan hates leftovers so I go through lengths to deceive him. Ironically enough, I’ve never had such a positive reaction to a dish from him EVER and Shu & the rest of the kids loved it too(which is funny since it was one of those “cubbard was bare” improvisations) so since everybody told me to put this in the blog I am. The key source of meat for this was 2 pounds of leftover chicken salad that Shu brought home from work, but I’m writing it for cooked chicken leftovers of any kind. This makes about 10 servings. So here we go.

Ingredients:

a few tablespoons of olive oil,

2 pounds cooked chicken,

2 cans condensed tomato soup,

½ of a cup of ketchup (I hated myself for using this but it did the trick perfectly),

½ a pound of cooked ham diced, (leftover deli meat is ideal, even honey glazed deli turkey will work but ham is definitely the king here)

3 small baked potatoes diced to bits (this is optional but I had them in the fridge & wanted to use them up),

4 yellow onions sliced thinly (I’m still having way too much fun with the mandolin we were given)

3 tablespoons of diced garlic,

1 cup of stock (the richer the better, consumme would be ideal, I had some leftover cooking liquid from the lamb head so it was solid, but regular stock will work),

½ a cup of mayonnaise,

2 stalks of celery diced,

1 cup of cheap ass red wine,

½ a cup of Mojo marinade (it’s just so useful & cheap),

Salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne flakes, oregano, garlic & onion powder to taste, (I used about a tablespoon or so of each)

a good dash of soy sauce,

10 servings worth of the pasta of your choice, but I strongly recommend spaghetti.

Not exactly rocket science to make: take a large saucepan & sweat the onions, when the onions are about halfway cooked add all of the liquid ingredients (mayo too), stir and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes or so, then throw everything else in and simmer for an hour or so, stirring and tasting frequently to make sure that the tastes are blending nicely. I’m assuming you know how to make pasta so I won’t bother you with that. That’s it really, I could have been more brief & said, “Toss it in a pot, stir & serve over spaghetti…” and that’s basically what I did. This is one of those loose types of recipes that are amongst the staples in my household, so feel free to modify depending on your refrigerator contents. Frankly I’m a touch embarrassed but an enthusiastic well fed family knows more than I do any day.

 

Leave a Reply

