My Sleep Apnea is Driving me Batty

For the uninformed; sleep apnea is snoring’s emo cutter brother who listens to too much Bauhaus and wants attention… Or more accurately it’s where you frequently stop breathing while you sleep. Let me repeat this, you’re sleeping and you FUCKING STOP BREATHING!!! I’ve had Shu ready to start performing CPR more times than I can count. It screws up your rest, you’re always tired and frequently waking up in the night gasping for air has a way of making it difficult to get back to sleep.

I’ve had some success sleeping propped up elaborately on pillows; in a manner about as comfortable as trying to sleep tied up in the back of an AMC Gremlin traveling down a rough road, so not surprisingly when I wake my elaborate John Merrick pillow fort is taken apart. My father suffered from this as well, but as heavy a smoker he was I think that he was more accustomed to surviving with minimal oxygen. Christ, I went to bed at 11 and I feel like I pulled an all nighter; I have a chance to get a nap in but part of me almost thinks “Why bother?” In any case I think I will bother in the hopes that I can catch a wink or to with minamal suffering of hypoxia, then I have laundry to attend to.

One Response to “My Sleep Apnea is Driving me Batty”

  1. +10 for the John Merrick reference

    I get the sleep paralysis…..Try not sleeping on your back….I think that’s bad for both conditions.

Leave a Reply

