13 movies I watch compulsively

Last night Velvet Goldmine was on, so I watched it (mildly to Shu’s chagrin) for the upteenth billionth time, even though I own the movie, and the soundtrack. I realized that this movie isn’t alone there are a bunch of movies that are always the best thing on and you never get tired of… I freely admit some of these are guilty pleasures; especially with my reputation as super film snob, but honesty is the best policy. So in no particular order.

1. The Godfather. Maybe it’s a guy thing, maybe it’s an Italian thing, maybe it’s a pacino thing but whenever this is on I must watch it, it’s a great movie.

2. Velvet Goldmine. That’s what got me thinking of this I absolutely adore this movie. It’s a tribute to the whole “Glam” scene in the 70’s and really is about how music affects fans… Sure some people can;t get over the fact that through half the movie you have John Rhys Myers making out with Ewan MacGregor (I’m secure in my masculenity-and they are both pretty men at least) but what I really love is the fantastic soundtrack and great direction.

3. Dune, the David Lynch version that he hated. I have probably watched this movie a couple of hundred times. The movie was somewhat divergent from the book I admit but the art direction & performances were dead on. I first saw this when I was 11 years old and it delightfully warped my widdle brain, I just love this movie. By the way did you know that the soundtrack was written by the band Toto? Rocking.

4. The Blues Brothers. Possibly the greatest, most epic, comedy of all time. On second thought, definately the greatest most epic comedy of all time.

5. The Empire Strikes Back. This was an intense film about the characters more than anything else. Hands down my favorite of all the Star Wars movies, if it’s on I’m watching it; luckily I live in a pretty nerdy household so there is never dissention there.

6. Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy. This is the funniest movie no one ever saw, every line is quotable as well as the fact that ALL THE SIGNIFIGANT ROLES were played by the members of Canada’s greatest comedy troupe. There are more characters and subplots in this than in War & Peace and 5 Canadian guys handled them all convincingly, rent this!

7. The History of the World: Part 1. Mel Brooks at his finest. Each and every time I watch this movie I laugh my ass off, I’ll be walking down the street and will crack up just thinking about it.

8. Young Frankenstein. Mel has the only one-two punch on this list. I waffle between this and History of the World, but I think Young Frankenstein is the funniest movie ever made. I laugh my ass off every time.

9. Hedwig & the Angry Inch. Ok, so I like some fruity movies, this is a great musical and funny as hell. Stephen Trask wrote wonderful songs for this (most of which I know all the words to) and it’s a great original story of an angry transexual trying to get back at the rock star that stole his/her songs… Oh piss off, this is my sing along kareoke movie I don’t need your approval.

10. Killing Zoe. This is a really intense & crazy French “Heist-gone-wrong” movie. My buddy Dave (A.K.A. Fosty) turned me on to this one in the late 90’s. The photographic direction is great and it also has some great funny scenes.

11. Rocky. Let me emphasize, just the first Rocky movie, that’s it. My mom obsessively loves all the other ones (and oddly enough Dune & Empire Strikes Back as well which is odd since she’s really not into science fiction) while I thought they should of stopped after Rocky II but that’s another rant.

12. The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai in the 5th Dimension. Piss off this was my favorite move when I was Logan’s age and it’s a big nostalga seizure for me. It’s a big fun, dopey 80’s movie & I’m still horribly disappointed that I didn’t become Bucaroo Banzai when I grew up.

13. Popeye the Movie. Yes I know, it was one of the biggest flops in cinematic history but this is another “I absolutely loved it as a kid” situation. In it’s defense it had great songs, fantastic casting, & best of all it did kind of capture that dirty, crusty sailor universe and the subtext under the original cartoons from the 20’s. Also, it had some of the greatest slapstick and pratfall work since Buster Keaton’s day.

So there goes another lucky 13. There are some honorable mentions but I wantend to keep it to movies exclusively, among these are Monty Python’s the Holy Grail, I actually got a bit burt out on that one but If it’s on there’s a 50/50 chance I’ll watch the whole thing, The 5 hour Hitchhiker’s guide is also up there but that’s a miniseries, same with reruns of “The Prisoner”. So what are your repeat viewing weaknesses? Remember they don’t necessicarily have to be favorites just movies you inexplicably can’t resist.

One Response to “13 movies I watch compulsively”

  1. kingbiscuitpants Says:

    i’m probably going to add this one to the list

    https://kingbiscuitpants.wordpress.com/2010/04/12/movie-review-sherlock-holmes/

Leave a Reply

