Dom’s “Less Trouble than You’d Think”, Stromboli

The very existence of this dish is in certain ways a perfect glimpse into what is wrong with the basic functioning of my mind. Allow me to explain: since I was unexpectedly off work on Monday, I chivalrously offered to take Charles (the 17 year old who is incapable of noticing ferret shit unless it is vociferously pointed out to him) to school as well as Logan and Kira. The reason that this was such a nice gesture is that it requires getting up at 5 am and driving him to where he is doing the college portion of his dual enrollment, when you factor in the fact that I am far more used to going to bed at 5am then waking at that moment (working nights & all) my body was less than pleased with me.   So as I set my alarm went to take a justly earned nap, you could only imagine my chagrin when I finally woke with the alarm blaring next to me at 1pm I was understandably panicky as I knew I had to shop, prepare dinner, pick up the kids from school, eat & leave for work by 430 pm. For some reason as I was franticly doing my morning routine and racking my brain for dinner ideas some portion of my brain yelled “Stromboli!” and the rest of my brain was too tired/confused to argue. I unapologetically used bagged pizza dough from my local Publix to save time & mess, feel free to make your own dough as there are plenty of recipes available.. This recipe makes 2 large Stromboli and my family made very short work of them; the recipe for the dipping sauce preceded this post so here is the link,

https://kingbiscuitpants.wordpress.com/2009/06/01/doms-%e2%80%9cim-very-ashamed-%e2%80%9d-pizza-sauce/

so let’s get going here.

Ingredients:

2 pounds of risen pizza dough

1 pound ground chuck

16 ounces shredded mozzarella

2 tablespoons olive oil

8 ounces diced ham

one large onion sliced & quartered

2 teaspoons diced garlic

1 diced bell pepper (I prefer the orange ones myself)

salt and black pepper to taste

a dash of cayenne

2 tablespoons dried oregano

2 tablespoons dried basil

a hefty shake of parsley if you have any lying around

half a pound of frozen chopped turnip greens with bits of diced turnips (you can use spinach or collards as well, I freely admit I intended to get just the turnip greens alone but in my haste I had a happy accident that I thought greatly improved the dish)

Take a large frying pan and sautee the onions, garlic and peppers for a minute or two before tossing in the ground chuck, ham & the spices. When the beef is almost browned toss in the shredded mozzarella & stir vigorously to mix, then add the greens and pre-heat your oven to 450 as you stir the greens into the beef mixture. As soon as the the greens have defrosted and begun to warm turn off the stove and allow it to cool somewhat as you attack the dough. Liberally dose a large baking pan covered with foil with cooking spray, then take your first dough ball and pound and stretch into a crude & ugly looking 10-12 inch disc, then spoon a nice heaping amount of the filling into said disk then fold over the dough and do your best to crimp it closed. If it isn’t hermetically sealed it is no great disaster, repeat the progress with the other dough ball & the remaining mix and toss into the oven for 15 minutes. It is a good idea to keep an eye on your Stromboli in the oven, however, as my oven is electric and behaves like a cranky old man with severe ADD. After you 15 minutes remove from the oven and serve with the aforementioned pizza sauce on the side. Here is a bonus dish, if you have any leftover filling or sauce (I had about 3 or so ounces of filling and an ounce or so of the sauce) take a baguette & split, coat with a touch of olive oil, a spoonful or so of the sauce & spread the filling on top, throwing it into a 3oo degree oven for 5 minutes or so for a nice lunch.

Leave a Reply

