Some Minor Achievements

After another successful Opera Mash-Up gig Wednesday night that cheered me up from crippling depression to merely a bit down, therefore, I actually was productive enough to  finally got the house cleaned up properly with willing help from Shu & applying liberal yelling to the kids.  The minor achievement was satisfying and hopefully something that will last as I put the bratlets to work today on maintaining the tidyness before they went out to play. 

With the dread ides of summer a week away I figured that it’s best to get them (the kids including/especially the 17 year old) into a regimen of basic housekeeping so that I might be able to postpone having a massive stroke from aggravation until Kira starts dating.  The financial situation is still somewhere between godawful & for the love of god slit my goddamned throat, but we’re still paying the bills at least.  Despite this empass I find myself considering changing my work schedule somewhat in order to continue performing the Mash-Up series which are changing dates to Tuesday nights.  The downside is that I would be making a little less reliable money, the upside is that doing the shows have hugely improved my general mental well being, as well as the fact that any lost funds would still be vastly cheaper than the horse dosage  perscription of Zoloft that it would take to accomplish the same for me.

The gig itself was unique and it was edifying to know that “I’ve still got it”, Gregg & I synced in perfectly (30 years of playing together might be the reason behind that one) and our friend James (who until that moment I had only known as a comedian and indie film maker  http://www.myspace.com/robersonhorror) played a seriously mean theremin, that’s right a theramin.  Those therimin thingy’s rock & it was the first time I got to jam with someone playing one so it was especially fun.  The drummer was rock solid as always.  It’s good to know I can still help to pull 90 minutes of music directly out of my ass when technical difficulties caused a shift in focus from “electronic noise music” to Spinal Tap “jazz oddssey”.  Another high point of the evening was when Bunny convinced a couple of signifigantly tipsy opera singers to put on giant furry pig heads (don’t ask, I didn’t) to do an duet that we gave a sort of Jesus & Mary Chain treatment to. 

All in all today at least, I’ve earned myself a good sit as I pound away listening to Morrissey’s “Suedehead” on the Comcast “Classic Alternitive” radio channel. Tomorrow’s neurosis I’ll deal with when I drag myself out of bed.

Leave a Reply

