I Love You Pressure Cooker

The pressure cooker was a gift Shu recieved for her birthday and since that time I have developed an almost unholy fondness for the delightful contraption.  Even now as I write this it sings it’s jaunty hissing tune as it speeds my mashed potatoes to fruition (I’ll type the recipie later, though pretty much any idiot can make mashed potatoes without my assistance, but I digress) and I find myself wondering how I ever made dinner without it.  For those afraid of my infernal machine take heart they are far safer now than they were in the 50’s and as long as you have some modicom of common sense & at least a vague concept of the laws of physics,  you will not end up blowing up your kitchen.  Another advantage in these times where frugality has gone from being a virtue to a necessity, it can save you money on your electric bill by shortening cooking times, and really help you to get the most out of cheaper cuts of meat.  I can honestly say I use it at least 3 to 4 times a week and my love affair with this particular inatimate object has only blossomed further.  If you have the opportunity and especially if you frequently cook soups or stews ( as I do) a good pressure cooker will become the apple of your eye.

2 Responses to “I Love You Pressure Cooker”

  1. I am chagrined to say that I have a brand-new, state-of-the-art pressure cooker that scares the everlovin’ shit out of me, so I use it for a stock pot. . .
    However, my younger sister has mastered the dark art of pressure cooking (especially her pinto beans) and I’m visiting her next week so I’m going to get lessons. I shall report back to you with my progress (provided it doesn’t blow my goddamned head off in some freak explosion. . . )

  2. kingbiscuitpants Says:

    So long as you release the steam & let it cool off for a few minutes you should be perfectly safe. Also if your’s is like mine (and I’ll bet ready money that it’s a nicer one than mine) it will have an auto lock on it that will prevent you from opening it until the pressure drops. The last thing to keep in mind is not to fill it higher than 3/4th full so the steam has room. I’m an accident prone sasquach of a man covered with more scars than Frankenstein & I’ve had no problems.

Leave a Reply

